Canon LiDE100 scanner in Mandriva


scanner and printer configuration is always an issue. Most of the people curse Linux boxes on this scenario, but its not a problem of Linux, its becoz these vendors dontt provide Linux drivers. But Linux is more powerful to overcome these hurdles. In windows, you have no alternatives.
I am using a MandrivaLinux2010 spring. I recently bought a Canon LiDE100 scanner. Its a USB connected one. I connected and tried to scan. The result was NOTHING!!..lol. I expected it. I went to MCC(Mandriva Control Centre) and clicked on the Hardware->Scanner. It asked me to install SANE packages. yes, I let them install. and I again tried,. NOTHING!!…LOL.. yeah nothing..But its always fun to make some thing possible from impossible.

here are the steps I followed to make my CanonLiDE 100 alive.

#sane-find-scanner
it will give u an output like this
found USB scanner (vendor=0x04a9 [Canon], product=0x1904 [CanoScan], chip=GL847) at libusb:005:002
# Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
# SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend’s manpage.
note down the vendor and product Ids.

I presume you have installed git, if you dont, run this command
#urpmi git

#urpmi libusb-devel

# git clone git://git.debian.org/sane/sane-backends.git..

# cd sane-backends/

# ./configure –prefix=/usr –sysconfdir=/etc –localstatedir=/var

# make

# make install

Now edit /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules to add these lines about the scanner:
find the line starts with #Canon
add a new line or edit
ATTRS{idVendor}==”vendornumber”, ATTRS{idProduct}==”productnumber”, ENV{libsane_matched}=”yes”

# cp ./backend/genesys.conf /etc/sane.d/genesys.conf

#reboot.

After I logged in ,I fired xscanimage . its there!!. I put a photo inside my scanner ,then select color option from xscanimage GUI and done.
The scanned image is in my home folder with a .pnm extension. use Gimp to convert it into your own format..

Happy Scanning on Mandriva…

Leave a Reply

